Mini-Blog “The Mundane”

“Mr. Hillin, why are you eating ‘Cam Newton’ food?”

One of my 5th-grade students asked me this morning. I looked at her befuddled and asked, “What do you mean?”

She pointed at my yogurt and asked the same question, “Why are you eating ‘Cam Newton’ food?”

I understand now. She has seen the commercials of Cam Newton eating the Oikos Greek yogurt enough times to consider it “his food.”

Cam

There is no lesson or deeper meaning to this. I found it hilarious and wanted to share the wealth.

I am convinced that it is small, funny, quirky moments like this that spur us on toward our bigger, more challenging, tasks. When I look back on today, I will not remember that interaction with this 5th grader (I will now that I am writing about it). I will only remember the “big things” that happen today.

Maybe God is at work in the small, unplanned, goofy interactions the same amount he is at work in the “big choices.”

Brother Lawrence (1614-1691) famously worked in the kitchen as a dishwasher in a monastery in France. He became renowned for the intimacy he held with God. I do not think Brother Lawrence had some special power that I do not have. I think Brother Lawrence intentionally searched for God in the mundane. Which is why he prayed, “Lord of all pots and pans and things… make me a saint by getting meals and washing up the plates.”

BL quote

I want my life to look like this prayer. No self-aggrandizement. Only love of God, neighbor, and self.

I long to find God and be found by God in the mundane.

Grace and Peace,

Reid

Leave a Reply

